A Plethera of Portraits!

May 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

2012 will be the year of commissioned portraits! I am currently working on 5 different portraits – and I’m happy as can be! Each portrait is unique and challenging – show horses, fuzzy dogs, sisters, parents, grandkids…. Its so fun to collaborate and work the details into a composition.

Just approved, this sketch for a parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. Most of my figurative work is simplified to an almost abstract form, with a portrait, i have to characterize the figures so they actually look a little like the real person. If I didn’t, then it wouldn’t be a portrait. I don’t use facial features in my regular work, but I love to paint eyes and I enjoy that little detail a great deal.

For this piece I incorporated grandchildren, a wedding ring quilt pattern, the Texas Univerisity long horn steer mascot, a love of books and music within a universal “we are Texans!” theme. All good stuff! I’ll post a complete story when this piece is finished.

Portrait sketch

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Plethera of Portraits! at Eberhardt Working Blog.

meta

